Braised mustard leaves and pork

My meals on weekdays have to be one-pot and easy to prepare. I typically only have a 30 minute window to whip them up in the morning. I spend a lot of time planning these one pot meals… the quicker you need to execute, the more planning you have to do.

And here you go, one of my favourites… braised mustard green and pork.

Ingredients

  1. Garlic
  2. Salted fish (I use those soaked in oil in a bottle)
  3. Mustard green (大菜)
  4. One big tomato (sliced into big chunks)
  5. Pork (today, I use 夹心肉, but roast pork belly works very well too)

Method

  1. stir fry the aromatics… garlic and salted fish
  2. when fragrant, add pork and stir fry for a while
  3. add tomato and mustard green, stir it a bit
  4. add water, enough to cover the meat will do. remember we are making a braise, not soup.
  5. braise for about 20 minutes, then add fish sauce and.a dash of oyster sauce.
  6. ready!

I think, but I have not tried, that if you use the same ingredients, but without salted fish and with more water, this makes for a nice pot of soup… add some bee hoon, that’s another one pot meal!

Leave a Reply

